Current Cost Support Forum

A support forum for Current Cost users, partners and developers. Covering hardware, software and web.
Site Announcements

The support forum is moderated Monday to Friday, UK time. To submit a support ticket, please email: helpme [at] currentcost .com

It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 7:26 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:47 am
Posts: 8
Hi

We've average about .5KWH use duting the day but recently have been getting a power spike each day of around 2Kwh at lunchtime, and I've beeen puzzled for a good month now what was causing it.

In a sudden dawning of relaisation I've realsied it's probably our solar system, we're out during the day and its the extra being fed back to the grid, and the senser is probably just seing it as power use, not which way it's going. So overall our readings are less than reliable for day use.

Is there any way I can remove the solar power input. The wiring means it's not possible to move supply wires, but the CC transmitter is close enough I can put in a 2nd clamp, but as it doens't seem to be directional how can I subtract the power from the solar from the total use generated power for the house.

My thought is I measure the solar power, and measure the total house consumption and simply take one from the other but how I do it is another matter..

Any thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:26 pm
Posts: 138
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Gavin wrote:
Hi

We've average about .5KWH use duting the day but recently have been getting a power spike each day of around 2Kwh at lunchtime, and I've beeen puzzled for a good month now what was causing it.

In a sudden dawning of relaisation I've realsied it's probably our solar system, we're out during the day and its the extra being fed back to the grid, and the senser is probably just seing it as power use, not which way it's going. So overall our readings are less than reliable for day use.

Is there any way I can remove the solar power input. The wiring means it's not possible to move supply wires, but the CC transmitter is close enough I can put in a 2nd clamp, but as it doens't seem to be directional how can I subtract the power from the solar from the total use generated power for the house.

My thought is I measure the solar power, and measure the total house consumption and simply take one from the other but how I do it is another matter..

Any thoughts?

See this post for a previous discussion.

Another way people have got around the issue is to put the usage clamp around the both the grid wire and the feed from the solar -- so that the currents are in different directions. I can expand on this if it doesn't make sense.

_________________
Seeker
"The Truth is out there!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:47 am
Posts: 8
Re-wiring isn't possible as it's all certified, I'm going down the two claps and transmitters route.

I had thought of doing it in the one transmitter using the 2nd pahase loop but CC support tell me thats not possible...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:19 pm
Posts: 5
SeekerAfterTruth wrote:
Gavin wrote:
Hi

We've average about .5KWH use duting the day but recently have been getting a power spike each day of around 2Kwh at lunchtime, and I've beeen puzzled for a good month now what was causing it.

In a sudden dawning of relaisation I've realsied it's probably our solar system, we're out during the day and its the extra being fed back to the grid, and the senser is probably just seing it as power use, not which way it's going. So overall our readings are less than reliable for day use.

Is there any way I can remove the solar power input. The wiring means it's not possible to move supply wires, but the CC transmitter is close enough I can put in a 2nd clamp, but as it doens't seem to be directional how can I subtract the power from the solar from the total use generated power for the house.

My thought is I measure the solar power, and measure the total house consumption and simply take one from the other but how I do it is another matter..

Any thoughts?

See this post for a previous discussion.

Another way people have got around the issue is to put the usage clamp around the both the grid wire and the feed from the solar -- so that the currents are in different directions. I can expand on this if it doesn't make sense.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:18 am
Posts: 2
In a sudden dawning of relaisation I've realsied it's probably our solar system, we're out during the day and its the extra being fed back to the grid, and the senser is probably just seing it as power use, not which way it's going. So overall our readings are less than reliable for day use.

solar energy products


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 8:52 am
Posts: 5
The properties turns out, what that

_________________
недвижимость за рубежом


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group