Current Cost Support Forum

A support forum for Current Cost users, partners and developers. Covering hardware, software and web.
Site Announcements

The support forum is moderated Monday to Friday, UK time. To submit a support ticket, please email: helpme [at] currentcost .com

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:33 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Collecting IAM Data
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 2:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 2
Hi Folks

I now have 3 IAMs connected to my EnviR. I'd like to collect the data for each appliance and graph it. I've looked at the feed on pachube but the XML only contains temp and overall consumption by the look of things. Since I'm not adverse to a little software hackery I'd like to know if there is any published info regarding collecting data via the PC cable and if the Envi pushes the IAM data in the output.

Thanks
Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Collecting IAM Data
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:10 am
Posts: 173
The XML spec is here:

http://www.currentcost.com/cc128/xml.htm

Each IAM or additional transmitter is output as a separate message approximately every 6 seconds. Lots of examples online for dealing with the XML: http://code.google.com/p/currentcost/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Collecting IAM Data
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 2
Excellent, thanks I'll have a read.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Collecting IAM Data
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:13 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Algarve, Portugal
Hi guys,

I'm about to buy an EnviR with OptiSmart + Data Cable RJ45 to USB + IAM (Individual Appliance Monitor) Pack of 3 EU Version,
but I have some a question regarding the EnviR XML data, I've checked for the previous link but I'm not able to see the IAM data anywhere:
http://www.currentcost.com/cc128/xml.htm

also checked some data demo here:
http://code.google.com/p/currentcost/do ... l&can=2&q=

From what I have found I understand that the OptiSmart transmitter will send data to the EnviR, wich will expose that data in the XML (Serial Connection to PC) -> Real Time Data (every 6 seconds).

But what about the IAM Plugs, will this be also sent has individual messages or will it be merged into the Real Time Data XML structure?

My goal would be to automatically get data from the OptiSmart PLUS the 3 IAM plugs every 6 seconds (no matter if the data is merged into the Real Time Data structure or different messages, as long as I'm able to get all 4 readings - 'real-time').

Any change that I could get some XML sample with the IAM data? Thank in advance!

Regards,
Nelson Neves.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Collecting IAM Data
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 2:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:13 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Algarve, Portugal
OK, I've found this post with data sample: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=1284

No only I'll get individual messages (Real-Time -> +-6 seconds between data) for the IAM plugs, and I'll also get 2 messages for the OptiSmart transmitter, one for the LED tick counter (pretty useful) and other for the General Power Consumption (if the OptiSmart is configured properly - check the above link).

Already ordered, just waiting to start my tests (switched to 4 IAM-EU instead).

Regards,
Nelson Neves.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group