Current Cost Support Forum

A support forum for Current Cost users, partners and developers. Covering hardware, software and web.
Site Announcements

The support forum is moderated Monday to Friday, UK time. To submit a support ticket, please email: helpme [at] currentcost .com

It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:38 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:10 pm
Posts: 37
I have paired my OptiSmart with EnviR, and it seemed to be working fine. I then noticed that it seemed to get stuck at 2.61kWh, and would flip/flop between 2.61 and 2.66 kWh for about 30 minutes. I know I was not using this much power as I have a separate clamp meter.

Any other ideas why it would peak so high, and give such an inaccurate reading? The product description says 100% accurate, but it does not appear to be as accurate as the clamp meter it replaced. I have reset the EnviR, but it still was reading 2.61kWh


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 11:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:16 pm
Posts: 19
Could it be that your readings are being affected by sunlight falling on the meter/sensor, I have two fitted and both were being affected by ambient light so I stuck black gaffer tape over the sensor and around the Meter's LED area to completely block out any ambient light. Strangely, I had different types of duff readings, the one inside the garage for my Solar PV would read zero when the garage door was open, but the one in the outside meter box read very high 30+ kW even though the White fibreglass meter box door was closed when the afternoon sun came onto the door.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:10 pm
Posts: 328
Location: East Sussex
Indeed, the sensor seems to be sensitive to the full spectrum of light colours.

Just holding in you hand it can give you a reading of over 17Kw (17,000 pulses per hour, 283 per minute, 4.7 per second).

Automan.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:29 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Россия
Hi

Thanks for your help. Now fixed Not sure why it did that but no data lost so alls well

Great to have this forum


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group